IMPACT: Keith Urban

"I’m surprised how happy I am with this album."

In celebration of his new album Fuse, which hits stores Tuesday (Sept. 10), Keith Urban is our Impact artist this week.

Fuse is Urban’s seventh studio album. And with the success of Fuse‘s first single, “Little Bit of Everything,” going to No. 1 on both the Billboard Country Airplay and Mediabase charts, Urban has much to be happy about. In fact, in a recent interview with he expressed his contentment.

“I’m surprised how happy I am with this album. I’m one of those artists that often gets to the end of record and there’s things I wished I had changed or things that were different and wish I could do this or do that,” he said. “This might be the very first album where it’s been finished and I’m completely ready for people to get to hear it.”

The Nashville transplant, by way of Australia and New Zealand, said that the 13 tracks on Fuse (16 on the deluxe version) reflect many things in his life.

“There are certainly some disturbances on the record, there are challenges on the record, it’s certainly not all blue skies and roses on the record. But given that, once again it is an album that captures everything for me. It’s also the largest album I’ve ever made so there’s a lot of things to capture,” he said.

Urban said there is something about each of the 16 tracks that is very much a part of who he is.

“Even if it’s a song I haven’t written like ‘Little Bit of Everything,’ I make a connection with the song and hope others do too,” he said. “Everything” was written by Kevin Rudolf, Brett Warren and Brad Warren.

Another track on the album, the passionate ballad “Come Back To Me”–which tells a lover “I want to hold you but I don’t want to hold you back”–also strikes a chord with Urban.

“I just love the lyric, and I know that person. I know those people in the song. Both the guy and the girl,” he said. “‘Come Back To Me’ is almost like the guy from ‘Stupid Boy’ who has finally figured out how to do things right. That’s why I love that song so much. I think anybody who hears it will know why that song affected me the way it did.”

Urban enlisted the help of two A-list friends on FuseMiranda Lambert assists on the powerful “We Were Us,” while Eric Church livens things up on “Raise ‘Em Up.”

“The way it turned out, good Lord, I can’t wait for people to get a chance to hear these songs,” he said. “There are barn burner rockers on there and ballads of course. It’s a real big mix of songs that hopefully people get a chance to hear that and they come out and see us live and it all makes sense.”

Keith Urban 'Fuse' album cover ‘Fuse’ album cover (courtesy Capitol Nashville)

Fuse Track Listing:

01. “Somewhere In My Car”
02. “Even The Stars Fall For You”
03. “Cop Car”
04. “Shame”
05. “Good Thing”
06. “We Were Us” featuring Miranda Lambert
07. “Love’s Poster Child”
08. “She’s My 11”
09. “Come Back To Me”
10. “Red Camaro”
11. “Little Bit Of Everything”
12. “Raise ‘Em Up” featuring Eric Church
13. “Heart Like Mine”

Deluxe Tracks:

14. “Black Leather Jacket”
15. “Gonna Be Good”
16. “Lucky Charm”

Preorder Fuse on iTunes. And you can catch Keith Urban live on his Light the Fuse Tour, which has dates scheduled across North America through early 2014.


Comments are closed.

More From BUZ'N @ 102.9

Get The App
Vote Your Top Songs!

Listen Live